Friday, January 16, 2015

Patriots' Dynasty: 4 years or 14 years? Tom Brady best QB ever?

The Patriots have had the best record in the AFC East for 14 straight seasons.  During that time New England has averaged slightly more than 12 regular season wins per year.  Sunday will be the Pats' ninth AFC Championship Game in that stretch, giving them a 64 percent success rate at getting to the conference's title game in the Tom Brady-Bill Belichick era.  And should they make the Super Bowl, it'll mean they've played in 43 percent of them since the turn of the century (6 of 14).

But a quick look at the history books makes it appear as if the Patriots had just a short run of dominance in the early 2000s--three titles in four years.  However, another Super Bowl victory this season puts everything that's happened since 2004 back in the spotlight.  The four-year run becomes a 14-year dynasty.

A win Sunday will make Brady the only quarterback to ever start six Super Bowls.  Another victory after that and he's tied with Joe Montana and Terry Bradshaw as the only four-time champions.  Should that happen, it'll be hard to argue he's not the greatest QB of all time.

There's a lot on the table in the next two weeks.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Back to homepage